RSS

Sticky Purple Geranium

08 Jun

I recently saw my first sticky purple geraniums, Geranium viscosissimum, of the year at Vedauwoo east of Laramie.  These more pinkish than purple blooms (despite the name) can be found throughout the summer.  Another species, Geranium richardsonii (Richardson’s geranium or wild geranium), is quite difficult to distinguish from G. viscosissimum.  I think the following photo is of a Richardson’s geranium, but I cannot be sure.  The blossoms of both species can vary quite a bit in both color and shape, and both can be found in this part of the country. 

 

Geraniums can be found singly or in large bunches and the color can be a deep pink to almost white.  Below is a photo of just how brightly pink this flower can appear.

Numerous websites state that the flowers and leaves of this plant are edible, just not very tasty.  My policy remains unchanged:  no nibbling.

On my hikes, I generally come upon geraniums scattered here and there around the trails.  Last summer, in the Tetons in western Wyoming, I found a whole field of pink blossoms.  Pretty!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 8, 2012 in Nature

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Sticky Purple Geranium

Leave a comment